(309)734-2111 Studio (309)734-9452 Office

Kennedy Jackson, CSC Women’s Basketball

GALESBURG — A pair of Carl Sandburg College women’s basketball players — both products of Limestone High School — have earned All-Arrowhead Conference honors for their play for the Chargers this season.

Sophomore Danayzia Stuckey (Peoria, Ill./Limestone) and freshman Kennedy Jackson (Peoria, Ill./Limestone) were each voted Second-Team All-Arrowhead by the league’s coaches. The pair helped the Chargers to a 6-2 record and second-place finish in the conference as they won their final four Arrowhead matchups.

Stuckey, a 5-foot-8 guard, was selected to the team after also earning All-Region IV accolades last month. She averaged a team-leading 8.6 points while adding 2.6 rebounds and 1.6 steals per contest over eight conference games. Stuckey also shot 32.6 percent from 3-point range against league opponents. She hit at least one trey in every Arrowhead game, highlighted by a 4-for-7 night beyond the arc while scoring 18 in the Chargers’ Jan. 17 win over Illinois Valley.

Jackson, a 5-10 forward, was one of just three freshmen to all all-conference honors. She also played in all eight of Sandburg’s conference games, averaging 7.5 points, 1.1 blocks and a team-best 6.0 rebounds. Jackson’s 13 points on 6-of-9 shooting Jan. 17 against IVCC was her best offensive output during the conference season. She fell a rebound shy of a double-double in the Chargers’ Arrowhead opener Jan. 10 at Kishwaukee, totaling 12 points and nine boards.

Danayzia Stuckey, CSC Women’s Basketball

2019 All-Arrowhead Conference Women’s Basketball Team

First Team: Lakeita Chappel (MVP, Highland, sophomore), Rashel Robinson (Kishwaukee, freshman), Dejah Malveaux (Highland, sophomore), Rachael Moraski (Illinois Valley, sophomore), Bre Scheidegger (Sauk Valley, sophomore).

Second Team: Karlee Doege (Sauk Valley, sophomore), Kennedy Jackson (Carl Sandburg, sophomore), Danayzia Stuckey (Carl Sandburg, sophomore), Margie Villaruz (Black Hawk, sophomore), Blair Bullock (Illinois Valley, sophomore).

Coach of the Year: Lonnie Boga (Highland)

2019 Arrowhead Conference Women’s Basketball Standings

Highland          5-0

Sandburg         6-2

Sauk Valley      6-3

Illinois Valley   5-5

Kishwaukee     2-6

Black Hawk      0-8