Sandburg Baseball’s O’Brien, Meyer Earn All-Region IV Honors


Bryce Meyer, CSC Baseball
Cacey O’Brien, CSC Baseball

GALESBURG — Carl Sandburg College baseball players Cacey O’Brien (Moline, Ill./Moline) and Bryce Meyer (Bartonville, Ill./Limestone) have been named to All-Region IV Division II North Central District Team for their play for the Chargers this spring.

O’Brien, a freshman first baseman, was named to the first team, while Meyer, a sophomore pitcher, was a second-team selection. The pair helped the Chargers to a 29-14 record and a share of the program’s first Arrowhead Conference title since 2008. Both players also were named to the All-Arrowhead team this week, with O’Brien named the league’s co-MVP.

O’Brien spent his first year with Sandburg as one of the top hitters in the country, finishing with a .458/.586/.788 batting line over 157 plate appearances. Each of those marks led the Chargers and ranks, 10th, fourth and 20th in the country, respectively.

O’Brien also led Sandburg in nearly every other offensive category. He was first or tied for first in home runs (eight), RBIs (49), hits (54), total bases (93), extra-base hits (22), doubles (13), walks (35) and average with runners in scoring position (.595). He was second on the team in runs scored (51) and was 4 for 4 in stolen base attempts. O’Brien reached base in 37 of his 41 games played.

Meyer tied for the team lead in wins after posting a 5-2 mark in 10 games (nine starts), and he paced the Chargers’ staff with a 2.10 ERA. The lefthander allowed just 33 hits and struck out 59 in 43 1/3 innings of work. Meyer didn’t allow a run in three of his nine starts, highlighted by a two-hit shutout April 21 at Illinois Valley in which in struck out nine and walked one in a five-inning complete game.


Player of the Year — Alex Cimaroli (Soph., McHenry County)


Infielders — Alex Cimaroli (Soph., McHenry County), Cole Hansel (Soph., McHenry County), Cacey O’Brien (Fr., Sandburg), Nick Gile (Fr., Madison).

Outfielders — Bryce Butler (Soph., Kankakee), Liam Dennehy (Soph., Moraine Valley), Chris Liggett (Fr., Black Hawk)

Catcher — Ryan Parquette (Fr., McHenry County)

Designated Hitter — Anthony Cocco (Soph., Kankakee)

Pitchers — Ryan Anderson (Soph., McHenry County), Devin Wessels (Soph., Black Hawk), Jack Eagan (Soph., Madison)


Infielders — Dylan Dodd (Soph., Kankakee), Nick Acri (Fr., Black Hawk), Dakota Borman (Soph., Highland), Austin Groshans (Fr., Highland)

Outfielders — Kyle Waller (Fr., Lake County), Stephen Pim (Soph., Black Hawk), Nathan Aide (Fr., Madison)

Catcher — Logan Michaels (Soph., Madison)

Designated Hitter — Chase Colding (Soph., Prairie State)

Pitchers — Matt Hamilton (Fr., Madison), Bryce Meyer (Soph., Sandburg), Brennan Kelly (Soph., Kankakee)

Spread the word

Trending Now

Featured Sports Podcasts

Choose a Category

Continue Reading