Abingdon, Bushnell and Macomb to receive $1.4 million in grant money


The Illinois Department of Commerce & Economic Opportunity (DCEO), Office of Community Development announced the recipients of the 2019 Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) for Public Infrastructure.  The grants will help Illinois’ low-income communities undertake much needed public infrastructure projects including water plant improvements, water main extensions and replacements, sewer plant and lift station upgrades, separation of storm and sanitary sewers, and construction of a new water tower. 

“It is important the state support public infrastructure improvements as they become the backbone of future growth and economic development”, said Governor JB Pritzker. “This year, DCEO had a forty percent increase in applications for this grant indicating the great need in our communities.”

Funding for the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Public Infrastructure program is provided by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). State administered funds are available for communities who do not receive their own CDBG funding from HUD.

Twenty-six communities across the state will receive federal funds totaling $12.5 million. 

CDBG Recipients:

City of Abingdon – $435,000 – Water plant improvements

Village of Ashmore – $500,000 – Water main replacements

City of Bushnell – $500,000 – Construction of a new well

Village of DePue – $500,000 – Water tower replacement

City of Eldorado – $500,000 – Rehabilitation of sewage treatment plant pumping station

Village of Elliott – $500,000 – Water main replacements

City of Farmington – $500,000 – Re-lining of sanitary lines

Fayette County – $500,000 – Water main extension

Flat Branch Township – $500,000 – Water system improvements

City of LaSalle – $500,000 – Storm sewer construction

Village of Latham – $500,000 – Water distribution system improvements

City of Macomb – $500,000 – Water distribution system improvements

Township of Mount Auburn – $500,000 – Water distribution system improvements

Village of Mount Auburn – $500,000 – Water distribution system improvements

City of Neoga – $500,000 – Waste water treatment plant and sewer lagoon improvements

Village of Neponset – $500,000 – Water system improvements

City of Newton – $495,000 – Water main replacement

Village of Niantic – $500,000 – Water distribution system improvements

City of Olney – $411,530 – Water main replacements

City of Ottawa – $500,000 – Separation of combined storm and sanitary sewers

Village of Sandoval – $500,000 – Construction of new water tower

City of Spring Valley – $300,000 – Sanitary sewer system improvements

City of Toluca – $425,000 – Waste water treatment plant improvements  

Communities interested in applying for 2020 program year funding may attend DCEO’s Office of Community Development CDBG Application and Administrator’s Workshop.  The Workshop is scheduled for February 25-27, 2020 in Springfield.  For more information call 217-785-6174 or e-mail ceo.cdbg@illinois.gov

Spread the word

Trending Now

Featured News Podcasts

Subscribe to our Community Newsletter

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Prairie Communications, 55 Public Square, Monmouth, IL, 61462, https://977wmoi.com/. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact

Choose a Category

Continue Reading

Warren County IL Property Transfers

05/13/2024- 05/17/2024 Alexis● 302SPostlewaite St: $82,000.00; Secretary of Veteran’s Affairs to Paige McKeown Monmouth● Empty Lot: $400.00; Jason Robbins to Gregorio Diaz-Martinez● 924S11thSt: $22,000.00; Bernardo & Juvenal Marquez to Maria

How is Your Retirement Income Taxed?

Once you’re retired, you will likely need to draw on several types of income for your living expenses. You’ll need to know where these funds are coming from and how

Four M-R Students Recognized at GAVC Signing Day

**photo courtesy of the Monmouth-Roseville High School Facebook Page Four students from Monmouth-Roseville took part in the CTE Senior Signing Day with the Galesburg Area Vocational Center, which gives an