Recent Posts



Monmouth's Braun Chosen MWC Football COY, All-League Team for MC, Knox

Monmouth College Football Coach, Chad Braun

For the fourth time in four years, the Midwest Conference football coaches have voted Monmouth College’s Chad Braun Coach of the Year in the South Division. Eleven Scots were named to the all-conference squad, including Thomas Lesniewski, who earned the league’s defensive lineman MVP award for the second time.

In his fourth year at the helm, Braun earned the coaching honor after leading Monmouth to an 8-2 regular season and winning the division with a 5-0 mark. He has posted a 35-7 record in his four seasons, winning league crowns in 2016 and 2017. Braun’s four consecutive Coach of the Year awards marks the first time in program history for a coaching four-peat. His defensive unit allowed just 8.3 points per game and currently ranks fourth in the nation in scoring defense. A senior defensive end who earned his fourth all-league honor after earning the Lineman of the Year award in 2016, Lesniewski wrapped up his career as the program’s career sack leader. His 34.5 sacks broke the mark of 34, which had stood since 1990. Joining Lesniewksi on the defensive first team were senior lineman Lamar Watson, junior linebacker Clark Gaden and freshman defensive back Mason Castricone. Senior linebacker Levi Oliveto and junior defensive back Nick Miyler, from Galesburg High School, were named to the second team. Three seniors and two juniors were named to the offensive first team. Quarterback Hayden Nelson, running back DeAndre Wright and wide receiver Jacolby Maxwell, all seniors, were joined by lineman Joe Krall and kicker Joey Biel. This marks the fifth consecutive year Monmouth has had double-digit all-conference honorees.

Seven members of the Knox College Prairie Fire football team were honored on the South Division roster as well. Senior offensive lineman Dom Parello, junior tight end Kobe Shutter, and junior punter Garrett Rau were all named the the First Team. Sophomore offensive lineman Corey McKnight, sophomore wide receiver Hunter Lee, senior defensive lineman Jordan Anderson, and senior defensive back Evan Economos all made the second team along with Rau, who also earned a spot as a defensive back.

Posted in