Monmouth/Galesburg Area Well Represented on IBCA’s Basketball District Coaches of the Year Lists


The IBCA released its list of district basketball coaches of the year. Locally on the boy’s side, Macomb’s Jeremy Anderson was named the class 1A District 16 coach of the year. Anderson’s Bombers won 28 games and made an Elite-8 appearance for the first time in 18 years. Quincy’s Andy Douglas was named District 16 class 4A coach of the year. Quincy went (31-4), losing on a last-second basket to the eventual 4A runners up, Normal Community, in the sectional championship game.

Local high school girls basketball coaches that were named district coaches of the year include Abingdon-Avon Tornado coach Brent Dugan for district 16 in class 1A. Dugan’s Tornadoes went (26-8), eventually falling to Illini Bluffs in a sectional championship match up. Wethersfield coach Todd Hansen and Annawan head coach Jason Burkiewicz for class 1A’s district 11. In class 2A, Camp Point Central’s Matt Long was named the coach of the year in district 16. Galesburg’s Evan Massey was a class 3A district 16 coach of the year.

Here’s the complete high school boys and girls lists.

Spread the word

Trending Now

Featured Sports Podcasts

Choose a Category

Continue Reading

Prairieland Conference Softball and Baseball All-Conference Teams Announced

Prairieland Softball All Conference Teams1st TeamPlayer’s Name SchoolCJ Troxell Brimfield/Elmwood *UnanimousLibbie Johnson Havana *UnanimousKayleigh Harr North Fulton *UnanimousKylee Vaughn Brimfield/ElmwoodKaydi Miller HavanaEllie Duncan MacombKennadee Allensworth MacombCali Hanson North FultonLydia Overcash