Pair of Chargers Freshmen Voted All-Arrowhead Conference


A pair of Carl Sandburg College women’s basketball freshmen earned spots on the All-Arrowhead Conference Team after leading the Chargers in numerous statistical categories this season.

Guard Elly Bentley was voted by league coaches to the All-Arrowhead First Team, while forward Lilly Isenhour was a Second-Team selection.

LISTEN: Elly Bentley & Lilly Isenhour on the Sandburg Athletics Podcast

Elly Bentley

Bentley, a 5-foot-3 product of Limestone High School, played all 10 conference games for the Chargers and led the team with 19.0 points, 4.8 assists and 1.5 steals per contest. She shot 42% from the field and knocked down 74% of her shots at the foul line. Bentley also grabbed 5.2 rebounds per game.

Bentley, who also earned Second-Team All-Region IV honors in her freshman campaign, scored at least 13 points in each of Sandburg’s conference games and had three outings of at least 20 points. She had 28 points, four rebounds and five assists in the Chargers’ Jan. 19 win at Illinois Valley.

Lilly Isenhour

Isenhour, a 6-foot graduate of Prince of Peace in Clinton, Iowa, averaged a double-double in 10 conference games, putting up 16.9 points and a team-best 12.4 rebounds. Isenhour shot 55% from the floor to lead the Chargers and was a 71% free-throw shooter. She also averaged 1.5 assists and 1.3 steals in Arrowhead play.

Isenhour notched seven double-doubles against conference opponents, including three 20-point double-doubles. She scored a season-best 28 points on 12-of-18 shooting and pulled in 16 rebounds in Sandburg’s Jan. 17 win against Sauk Valley. Isenhour had a season-high 21 rebounds (nine on the offensive glass) and 11 points in the Chargers’ Feb. 7 contest against Black Hawk.

First Team
MVP: Me’Kiyah Harris (Black Hawk)
Kira Klapprodt (Kishwaukee)
Hailey Walter (Sauk Valley)
Elly Bentley (Sandburg)
Laney Parker (Black Hawk)
Second Team
Maddie Hildebrand (Highland)
Natalija Beleska (Highland)
Lilly Isenhour (Sandburg)
Khloe Damm (Black Hawk)
Chian Scott (Kishwaukee)
Natali Haynes (Illinois Valley)
Coach of the Year
Logan Frye (Black Hawk)

***Courtesy of Carl Sandburg College***

Spread the word

Trending Now

Featured Sports Podcasts

Choose a Category

Continue Reading