TRAC Names Baseball All-Conference Teams; Mon-Rose Gets Eight Players on List


The Orion Chargers won the regular season West Division title, winning by a game over Sherrard and a game and a half over Monmouth-Roseville. The East Division championship was taken by Peru St. Bede. Sterling Newman finished in a tie for 3rd but would make the longest postseason run of any TRAC baseball club, garnering 3rd place in the recently completed class 1A state finals. Looking at the West Division all-conference baseball teams, Orion had the most total players among the 1st, 2nd and Honorable Mention lists with nine. Monmouth-Roseville had 8 total players and Sherrard and Rockridge had 7 total players. Orion, Sherrard and Monmouth-Roseville tied with three first team members each, but Monmouth-Roseville led all West Division schools with two unanimous selections. Senior CJ Johnson was a first team unanimous pitcher, with junior Zach Almaguer chosen as a first-team unanimous catcher. Monmouth-Roseville junior Tyler Finnicum is a first-team infielder. Titans on the 2nd team included senior pitcher Justin Brooks and senior infielder Silas Braun. Monmouth-Roseville Honorable Mention members were all juniors…..pitcher Leo Mahoney, infielder Tyler Jones and outfielder Ayden Holcomb.

Here’s the entire TRAC West and East Division All-Conference list:

2023 TRAC West Baseball All-Conference
* Denotes Unanimous All-Conference
1st Team
PitcherCreighton Johnson (MR) * 12th
Brenden Martin (MOR) * 11th
Aidan Terronez (SHE) * 10th
Maddux Anderson (ORI) 10th
Carsen Dekeyrel (RR) 9th
InfieldDawson Peterson (RIV)* 11th
Gavin Awbrey (ORI) 10th
Tyler Theim (RR) 12th
Tyler Finnicum (MR) 11th
OutfieldDrake Gunn (ORI)* 12th
Zane Romero (EP) 11th
Kyler Schmidt (SHE) 11th
CatcherZach Almaguer (MR)* 11th
UtilityCam Davis (SHE) 11th
2nd Team
PitcherMaddux Harksen (SHE) 11th
Justin Brooks (MR) 12th
Nolan Buchen (ORI) 10th
Bryce VanDeWostine (EP) 12th
InfieldAlex Edwards (ORI) 12th
Cole Kratzberg (ORI) 12th
Seth Kramer (RR) 12th
Silas Braun (MR) 12th
OutfieldMaddox Williams (RIV) 11th
Sam Crownover (SHE) 11th
Tanner Dye (RR) 9th
Kameron Bohnsack (RR) 12th
CatcherAiden Switzer (SHE) 11th
UtilityAydan Meinsma (MOR) 9th
Honorable Mention
PitcherJacob Fratzke (SHE) 10th
Braedyn Frank (EP) 9th
Leo Mahoney (MR) 11th
InfieldTyler Jones (MR) 11th
Danny Mouw (MOR) 12th
Carson Strating (MOR) 11th
Jake Willems (RIV) 11th
Landon Peterson (RIV) 9th
Cullen Daly (RR) 11th
OutfieldAyden Holcolmb (MR) 11th
Andrew Meiresonne (ORI) 12th
Kile Johnson (ORI) 12th
Brendan Price (RR) 11th
CatcherConnor Green (ORI) 12th
Trent Doty (RIV) 12th
West Division Standings:
1- Orion 10-2
2- Sherrard 9-3
3- Monmouth Roseville 8-3
4- Riverdale 5-7
4 Rockridge 5-7
6- Morrison 2-9
7- EP 2-10
2023 TRAC East Baseball All-Conference
* Denotes Unanimous All-Conference
1st Team
PitcherPayton Dye (Hall) * 11th
Kyle Wolfe (Newman) 12th
Danny Cihocki (Princeton) * 12th
Alex Ankiewicz (St. Bede) * 11th
InfieldSan Rouse (Bureau Valley) 12th
Mac Resetich (Hall) * 12th
Ashton Pecher (Hall) * 12th
Colson Welgate (Kewanee) 10th
OutfieldBrendan Tunink (Newman) * 11th
Noah LaPorte (Princeton) * 10th
Evan Entrican (St. Bede) 11th
CatcherKyler Lapp (Hall) * 12th
UtilityGarrett Matznick (Newman) 9th
2nd Team
PitcherIzaiah Nanez (Mendota) 11th
Seth Ferrari (St. Bede) 11th
InfieldNolan Britt (Newman) 12th
Ryan Brucker (Princeton) 12th
Luke Tunnell (St. Bede) 11th
Brendan Pillion (St. Bede) 12th
OutfieldMax Bryant (Hall) 11th
Joe Oswalt (Newman) 10th
Augie Christiansen (Princeton 12th
CatcherJaesen Johns (Newman) 12th
UtilityAyize Martin (Bureau Valley) 12th
Honorable Mention
InfieldBraiden Freeman (Mendota) 10th
Gus Burr (St. Bede) 9th
OutfieldCruz Paredes (Kewanee) 11th
CatcherAndy Osborne (Kewanee) 12th
UtilityJordan Reinhardt (Princeton) 10th
East Division Standings:
1- St. Bede 11-1
2- Hall 9-3
3- Newman 8-4
3- Princeton 8-4
5 Bureau Valley 2-10
5- Kewanee 2-10
5- Mendota 2-10

Spread the word

Trending Now

Featured Sports Podcasts

Choose a Category

Continue Reading