Applications Available for ACT NOW Conservation Funding


The Illinois Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) has a new statewide funding opportunity for farmers through the Environmental Quality Incentives Program (EQIP) funded by the Inflation Reduction Act (IRA). This opportunity opens up $12 million to farmers through the ACT NOW Program for five conservation management practices: conservation crop rotation, cover crop, no-till, reduced tillage, and nutrient management.

Applications for these funds are currently open through January 26th. Local NRCS District Conservationist Cathy Froelich says while most programs take several months to go through the fund allocation process, the ACT NOW funding process will have a shorter turnaround time.

“Once we rank your application, if it meets the cutoff that Illinois establishes then you’re funded within a couple of weeks. Right now, we’re taking applications till January 26,” said Froelich. “The first cut-off will be January 5, obligation will be February 2, so you could tell it’s a pretty quick turnaround.”

The Illinois NRCS will make funding decisions every two weeks as funds are available. For more information on the ACT NOW program or other conservation programs through NRCS, you can call any of your local NRCS offices.

Monmouth: 309-734-9308 Extension 3;
Stronghurst: 309- 924-1167 Extension 3;
Galesburg: 309-342-5138 Extension 3

Spread the word

Trending Now

Featured News Podcasts

Subscribe to our Community Newsletter

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Prairie Communications, 55 Public Square, Monmouth, IL, 61462, You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact

Choose a Category

Continue Reading

Mayor Of Galesburg Running for Second Term

The Mayor of Galesburg is running for a second term.  Peter Schwartzman announced he is running for re-election next year.  Schwartzman defeated two other candidates to win a four-year term