Illinois Media Releases Class 1A and 2A All-State Girls Basketball Teams


The Illinois Media All-State Girls Basketball teams for Class 1A and 2A were released on Wednesday. With the high quality of high school girls basketball in the Monmouth/Galesburg area, it’s no surprise that several local players made the lists. Starting in class 1A, also no surprise to anyone, West Central senior Shelby Bowman was a first-team selection. Bowman averaged over 31 points a game for the (20-8) Lincoln Trail Conference champion Heat. She also hauled down an average of 6.5 rebounds and handed out 3.5 assists a game. Bowman, a Western Illinois University recruit, went over the 2500th point mark in her career in early February. A plethora of Lincoln Trail Conference ladies were named to the Honorable Mention team, including Abingdon-Avon Tornado freshman Kennedy Quinn. She averaged just under 19 points, 6 rebounds and nearly 4 assists a game in her first year of varsity basketball. Fellow LTC players on the Honorable Mention team were Wethersfield senior Kennady Anderson and Princeville senior Brianna Brodie. Getting one vote but not enough to garner Honorable Mention status was Annawan senior Kaylee Celus and Prairieland Conference members, Elmwood senior Mae Herman and Havana junior Josie Hughes. State finals qualifier, Illini Bluffs senior Lily Luczkowiak, was a 1A second-team member.

Looking at the Class 2A Illinois Media All-State Teams, Morrison Fillie junior Camryn Veltrop was a first-team selection. The 6-2 Veltrop averaged a double-double of just under 22 points and 11.6 rebounds per game. Fellow Three Rivers Athletic Conference member, senior Carmyn Huston of Monmouth-Roseville was an Honorable Mention team selection. Huston put up 15 points and 7 rebounds per game for the (21-12) Titans this season. Camp Point Central/Southeastern junior Lauren Miller was a 2nd team selection. Rock Island Alleman ended the season (30-5) and had three total girls on the 2A lists, led by senior Clair Hulke on the 2nd team. Alleman senior Audrey Erickson and sophomore Adalynn Voss were on the Honorable Mention team. Congratulations to all our local all-state selections on a great season.

Here’s the full list of 1A and 2A Illinois Media All-State Teams. Class 3A and 4A will be released later this week.

Spread the word

Trending Now

Featured Sports Podcasts

Choose a Category

Continue Reading

Sandburg softball vs. Illinois Valley PPD

The Carl Sandburg College softball doubleheader scheduled for this afternoon vs. Illinois Valley has been postponed because of anticipated inclement weather. A makeup date has yet to be announced. Up