Sandburg Chargers Baseball Outfielders Wiegand, Hankins Earn All-Region 4 Honors


GALESBURG — A pair of Sandburg baseball outfielders were recognized by Region 4 coaches for their play on the diamond this spring for the Chargers.

Freshman Austin Wiegand was voted to the All-Midwest District/Region 4 Division II Second Team, and sophomore Payton Hankins was named to the All-Midwest District/Region 4 Division II Rawlings Gold Glove Team.

Wiegand, also an All-Arrowhead Conference selection this season, played in all 49 games and had 196 plate appearances for Sandburg this spring, leading the team in almost every offensive category. The freshman center fielder from Eureka paced the Chargers with a .354 average, .480 on-base percentage, .646 slugging percentage, 1.125 OPS, 56 hits, 14 doubles, 10 home runs, 36 RBIs, 54 runs scored, 25 extra-base hits, 102 total bases and 11 steals in 12 attempts.

Among all players in Region 4, Wiegand finished fifth in home runs, ninth in slugging, 11th in runs scored and 13th in total bases this season.

Hankins went through 33 games and 59 total chances in the outfield before committing his lone error of the season April 17 against Illinois Central. Overall, the sophomore right fielder from Knoxville put up a .990 fielding percentage and made 95 putouts in 97 total chances.

Hankins had one outfield assist this spring, gunning down a runner for a double play April 6 at Sauk Valley. In his two seasons with the Chargers, Hankins posted a .989 fielding percentage, making just two errors against 171 putouts and four assists in 177 chances.

2024 All-Midwest District/Region 4 Division II Team
Player of the Year — Michael Carpenter (sophomore, Madison)
Coach of the Year — Mike Davenport (Madison)
First Team
Pitchers — Michael Carpenter (sophomore, Madison), Grifin Smith (sophomore, Rock Valley), Graham Kasey (sophomore, Kankakee)
Catcher — Nick Weaver (freshman, Elgin)
First base — Miguel Cantu (sophomore Morton)
Second base — Jackson Lindquist (sophomore, Highland)
Third base — Charlie Schau (freshman, Madison)
Shortstop — Joseph Mrowiec (sophomore, Lake County)
Outfielders — Cole Freeman (sophomore, Kankakee), Angelo Luna (sophomore, Morton), Matthew Mateo (sophomore, Black Hawk)
Designated hitter — Charlie Marion (sophomore, Madison)
Second Team
Pitchers — Payton Barton (sophomore, Black Hawk), Zach Driver (sophomore, Sauk Valley), Jackson Smith (sophomore, Kankakee)
Catcher — Will Johannes (sophomore, Madison)
First base — Jack Kerno (freshman, Elgin)
Second base — Luke Brabham (sophomore, Morton)
Third base — Ryan Weed (freshman, Bryant & Stratton)
Shortstop — Joseph Smith (freshman, Morton)
Outfielders — Brayden Pleau (freshman, Bryant & Stratton), Austin Wiegand (freshman, Sandburg), Peyton Seebacher (sophomore, Milwaukee Tech)
Designated hitter — Jeyson Polanco (sophomore Highland)

2024 All-Midwest District/Region 4 Division II Rawlings Gold Glove Team
Defensive Player of the Year — Will Johannes (Madison)
Pitcher — Liam Stumpf (Madison)
Catcher — Will Johannes (Madison)
First base — Jack Kerno (Elgin)
Second base — Jackson Lindquist (Rock Valley)
Third base — Beau Honeycutt (Black Hawk)
Shortstop — Chris Lara (Elgin)
Outfield — Clay Cerna (Lake County), Payton Hankins (Sandburg), Matthew Mateo (Black Hawk)

***Story and photo courtesy of Sandburg Athletics***

Spread the word

Trending Now

Featured Sports Podcasts

Choose a Category

Continue Reading

Bobby Woll Memorial Field Gets Facelift

Here’s a sneak peek at the renovated Bobby Woll Memorial Field. This summer is filled with exciting updates throughout campus. Stay tuned! The April Zorn Memorial Stadium field and track renovation